Historical characteristics of the building:
Originally a wooden, early Gothic church, rebuilt in the late Gothic style. The oldest credible mention of the village and the church in the written sources dates from 1352. The presbytery and sacristy are from the early 14th century. The nave, dating from the beginning of the 16th century, was built by the same stonemason works that was also involved in the construction of the churches in Benešov nad Ploučnicí and Most. It was completed in 1510, as can be seen by the date on the northern facade.
The church was partially rebuilt in the Baroque style in 1716-1723. This Gothic single-nave rectangular church with a pentagon closed off by the presbytery and square sacristy on the right (northern) side and with a tower on the south side of the nave still has a number of late Gothic portals. The portal in the lower tower has unique preserved and restored Gothic painting (polychrome from the turn of the first and second decades of the 16th century.)
In the vault of the church you can see some Baroque ceiling paintings. After general refurbishment of the building in 2011-2012, which was organised by ŘKF Jedlka and other donors, the church was consecrated by the Bishop of Litoměřice, Mons. Jan Baxant.
In 2008-2009 restoration work was carried out on the church organ from the Feller workshop in Libouchec dating from 1856. In 2013 restoration began on the perimeter wall, funded by the Ministry of Culture.